Med spas and dermatology clinics offer treatments that work on the skin directly, unlike supplements, which are swallowed and sold without FDA review. Several of these treatments are prescription medicines or medical devices: some are FDA-approved for specific uses, such as frown lines or facial folds, and many devices are FDA-cleared, a lighter review than approval. Below, each one is placed by how far testing in people has gone. Everything comes from trusted sources and links to them; nothing here is a recommendation.
All 11 side by side
- Botox→
What it doesSmall injections of a purified toxin that relaxes the muscles behind expression lines, such as frown lines and crow's feet.
Research stage4Stage 4 · Widely recommended
Sessions and recoveryBotox for wrinkles is given by a doctor as an injection into a muscle or the skin. Source ↗
- Hyaluronic acid fillers→
What it doesA clear gel injected under the skin to fill wrinkles and folds or restore volume in the cheeks, lips and chin. The body slowly breaks it down.
Research stage4Stage 4 · Widely recommended
FDA statusFDA-approved (absorbable dermal fillers) for moderate to severe facial wrinkles and skin folds ↗
Sessions and recoveryThe FDA says patients may need to repeat the procedure over time to keep the effect. Source ↗
- Collagen-stimulating injections→
What it doesInjections of a material, such as poly-L-lactic acid (Sculptra) or calcium hydroxylapatite (Radiesse), that prompts the skin to make more of its own collagen over several weeks.
Research stage4Stage 4 · Widely recommended
FDA statusFDA-approved (as Sculptra) to correct fine lines and wrinkles in the cheek region ↗
Sessions and recoveryThe effects appear gradually over a few months. Source ↗
- Red light therapy→
What it doesShining red or near-infrared light on the skin.
Research stage3Stage 3 · Large studies in people
FDA statusNot stated in our sources
Sessions and recoveryNot stated in our sources
- Laser resurfacing→
What it doesLasers that heat or remove thin layers of skin, or make tiny columns of injury, so the skin heals with new collagen. Ablative lasers (such as CO2) go deeper and need more recovery than non-ablative ones.
Research stage2Stage 2 · Small studies in people
FDA statusNot stated in our sources
Sessions and recoveryAblative resurfacing typically takes 30 minutes to two hours. Source ↗
- IPL photofacial→
What it doesFlashes of broad-spectrum light that target brown spots and small red blood vessels from sun damage. It isn't a laser.
Research stage2Stage 2 · Small studies in people
FDA statusNot stated in our sources
Sessions and recoveryNot stated in our sources
- Microneedling→
What it doesTiny needles make many small punctures in the skin to prompt healing and new collagen. RF microneedling (such as Morpheus8) also sends radiofrequency heat through the needles.
Research stage2Stage 2 · Small studies in people
FDA statusNot stated in our sources
Sessions and recoveryIn a review, most trials treated patients with multiple microneedling sessions, with schedules that varied by number and timing. Source ↗
- Radiofrequency skin tightening→
What it doesA device heats the deeper layers of the skin with radiofrequency energy to tighten it and prompt new collagen, without breaking the surface.
Research stage2Stage 2 · Small studies in people
FDA statusNot stated in our sources
Sessions and recoveryNot stated in our sources
- Ultrasound skin lifting→
What it doesFocused ultrasound energy heats points deep under the skin to lift and tighten it, for example along the brow, jaw and neck.
Research stage2Stage 2 · Small studies in people
FDA statusNot stated in our sources
Sessions and recoveryNot stated in our sources
- Chemical peels→
What it doesAn acid solution applied to the face that removes the outer layers of skin, so smoother new skin grows back. Peels range from light to deep.
Research stage2Stage 2 · Small studies in people
FDA statusThe FDA says it has not approved any chemical peel products. Source ↗
Sessions and recoveryNot stated in our sources
- PRP for skin and hair→
What it doesA small amount of your own blood is spun to concentrate the platelets, then injected or microneedled into the skin or scalp.
Research stage2Stage 2 · Small studies in people
FDA statusNot stated in our sources
Sessions and recoveryNot stated in our sources
A research stage shows how far testing in people has gone, not whether a treatment will work for you. How stages work. Prices vary by clinic and area; each treatment page shows a price only when a trusted source states one.
Common comparisons
Botox or fillers?
Botox: Botox's generic name is onabotulinumtoxinA, and it is sold as Botox and Botox Cosmetic. Botox for wrinkles is given by a doctor as an injection into a muscle or the skin. Source ↗
Hyaluronic acid fillers: The FDA says dermal fillers go by several names, including wrinkle fillers and lip and facial fillers. The FDA says patients may need to repeat the procedure over time to keep the effect. Source ↗
Fillers or collagen-stimulating injections?
Hyaluronic acid fillers: The FDA says dermal fillers go by several names, including wrinkle fillers and lip and facial fillers. The FDA says patients may need to repeat the procedure over time to keep the effect. Source ↗
Collagen-stimulating injections: Sculptra is known as a bio-stimulatory filler, meaning it prompts your own skin to make new collagen. The effects appear gradually over a few months. Source ↗
Laser resurfacing or a chemical peel?
Laser resurfacing: It is usually used on the face, and it cannot fix sagging skin. Ablative resurfacing typically takes 30 minutes to two hours. Source ↗
Chemical peels: Chemical peels are also called chemexfoliation or derma peeling. Source ↗
Laser resurfacing or microneedling?
Laser resurfacing: It is usually used on the face, and it cannot fix sagging skin. Ablative resurfacing typically takes 30 minutes to two hours. Source ↗
Microneedling: Microneedling is a non-surgical treatment option for facial skin aging. In a review, most trials treated patients with multiple microneedling sessions, with schedules that varied by number and timing. Source ↗
Common questions
- Is Botox FDA-approved?
- Yes, for a specific use: FDA-approved (as Botox Cosmetic) to temporarily improve moderate to severe frown lines, crow's feet and forehead lines.
- Is Hyaluronic acid fillers FDA-approved?
- Yes, for a specific use: FDA-approved (absorbable dermal fillers) for moderate to severe facial wrinkles and skin folds.
- Is Collagen-stimulating injections FDA-approved?
- Yes, for a specific use: FDA-approved (as Sculptra) to correct fine lines and wrinkles in the cheek region.
- What should I expect from Botox?
- Botox for wrinkles is given by a doctor as an injection into a muscle or the skin. For wrinkles and several other conditions, extra injections may be given every 3 to 4 months, depending on how long effects last.
- What should I expect from hyaluronic acid fillers?
- The FDA says patients may need to repeat the procedure over time to keep the effect. The FDA says how long the effect lasts depends on the filler material and the injection area.
- What should I expect from collagen-stimulating injections?
- The effects appear gradually over a few months. Multiple sessions are needed, often spaced one month apart.
- What should I expect from laser resurfacing?
- Ablative resurfacing typically takes 30 minutes to two hours. Without a fractional laser, ablative treatment usually needs only one session.
- What should I expect from microneedling?
- In a review, most trials treated patients with multiple microneedling sessions, with schedules that varied by number and timing.
Longevity Verdict doesn't list or recommend med spas. Talk to a doctor or board-certified dermatologist before any of these treatments. More: Clinic treatments · Face and skin · Look younger
